I've been feeling like a pretty rotten mom lately. Nothing from my old bag-o-tricks is working. My kids are fighting and screaming and being especially naughty, selfish, and disobedient. Grr. Our punishments, discipline and rewards just aren't cutting it. I had a major mommy meltdown last night. Sobbing and blubbering. It's so hard to be a parent. I was at my wits end last night and ready to apply for jobs in the morning. Maybe I'm not cut out for this stay at home mom thing, I thought. Maybe daycare can do a better job?! Yes, I was pretty pitiful.
But this morning I woke up determined. This is the only job I've ever wanted and I am good at it. Sometimes I yell too much and give in too easily but I can do better. I must do better. So first things first, no yelling! From anyone. Mama and daddy have to be calm and talk the littles through it all. No yelling anymore. Today I haven't raised my voice once and it feels so so so good. I don't feel like a meany.
This is not to say that the children have been angels. They have not. Which brings me to my next change. Be consistent. Always. No matter what. Sometimes when the offense is small and no one's bleeding I skip the time out. No more. My kids have made lots of trips to the stairs. They get a warning, of course. They no the rules. I remind them of the rules. If they break them again... Stairs.
We used to say/yell "go to the stairs!" but that always got us a "NO!!!!" in return. Frustrating, maddening and unnecessary. From now on we'll walk them to the stairs and then sit and work it out immediately. Ive made a lot of trips to the stairs today. A lot. But it's been totally worth it. I've handled everything right away and had a great chance to work out problems with each child the way they understand best.
It's only 12:30 and it's been a ton of work to discipline the 3 big kids all day but I feel like I can do it. I can be the mom I want to be and in a couple days/weeks my kids will get with the new routine.
I want to raise good, obedient, happy, giving children. I've been trying to explain how to live with a happy, giving, loving heart. To everyone. Not just mommy and daddy but everyone you meet. We're working on saying "yes, mommy" in a happy voice and leaving their super whiny voices behind. I remind them that when they ask me to fill their sippy cups, or fix a toy, or get them a snack I do not whine, cry or throw myself on the floor. I expect the same from my kiddos. I've said " remember your happy heart and voice when you talk to mommy" a lot.
So I think we're off to a good start and I feel good about being a mama again. I love my rascals.
Friday, March 9, 2012
Thursday, March 8, 2012
6 months
Dear Collin,
Happy 1/2 birthday little man! How in the world have 6 months gone by?! This time last year I had morning sickness, just been diagnosed with gestational diabetes, and completely exhausted. Today I am so blessed to have a happy, snuggly baby to hold. However, I am still completely exhausted. You are such a sweet, smiley baby. You are addicted to your mama. I cannot leave you with grandma or Phee Phee for very long before you are loudly requesting that I return. You are still wearing 6 month clothes but are starting fit in a few 6-9 month sleepers. You wear a size 3 diaper. You love your baby food. You've tried sweet potato, pumpkin, avocado, banana, corn, carrots, squash, spinach, apples and prunes. Spinach is your favorite. You are getting so good at using your arms to prop yourself up on your tummy. You try to roll onto your back as soon as I lay you down on your belly. You've recently found your voice. You love to talk and sing but you're so loud. You are a Rodriguez, after all. You live your jumperoo and bouncy chair. You are liking toys more and more and you're getting pretty good with your cute pudgy hands. You are still eating 6oz of formula every 4.5 hours. You are eating solids 1-2 a day and have tried a sippy cup a few times. You are sleeping in mamas bed most of the night but now sleep a good 7 hour stretch between feedings. Collin, you are such a sweet blessing. We all love you so much.
Monday, March 5, 2012
Baby food
I've decided to make all of Collin's food. Store bought baby food is expensive and kinda gross. I made some of Logan's food in the beginning but he moved to table foods really quickly. He had a full set of chompers by 9 months. I just didn't have the time or energy to do it for the twins. I was all about surviving their first year. But this time I have the time, the knowledge and the desire to do it all myself. I'll probably still use the store bought organic veggie jars when we travel since storing homemade baby food on the go seems daunting.
Last night was my third baby food cooking day. The first was just to get my feet wet. I made sweet potato, avocado and banana purées. Collin loved them. The next time I made a banana, sweet potato, pumpkin combo. Collin's fave so far. Last night was my biggest cooking day. I steamed corn, carrots, spinach and squash. I also stewed apples and prunes. Then I puréed everything separately and froze them in iced cube trays. Oh how i love my silicone ice cube trays! I spent about an hour cooking and have about a month of meals for him. I still need to make broccoli, green beans, peaches, tomatoes, quinoa and brown rice but I need to hit Trader Joes first. Auntie Amy was nice enough to let me borrow her baby food cook books and now I have lots of good/yummy ideas. I can't believe how big Collin is getting. Wasn't he born just yesterday? Isn't he still my tiny 7lb bundle?! Time is a meany.
In other news, Mama needs a new food processor. My blender is dumb and lazy and hard to clean. Maybe I'll get a shiny new food processor for Ell for his birthday? Just kidding. Kinda.
Last night was my third baby food cooking day. The first was just to get my feet wet. I made sweet potato, avocado and banana purées. Collin loved them. The next time I made a banana, sweet potato, pumpkin combo. Collin's fave so far. Last night was my biggest cooking day. I steamed corn, carrots, spinach and squash. I also stewed apples and prunes. Then I puréed everything separately and froze them in iced cube trays. Oh how i love my silicone ice cube trays! I spent about an hour cooking and have about a month of meals for him. I still need to make broccoli, green beans, peaches, tomatoes, quinoa and brown rice but I need to hit Trader Joes first. Auntie Amy was nice enough to let me borrow her baby food cook books and now I have lots of good/yummy ideas. I can't believe how big Collin is getting. Wasn't he born just yesterday? Isn't he still my tiny 7lb bundle?! Time is a meany.
In other news, Mama needs a new food processor. My blender is dumb and lazy and hard to clean. Maybe I'll get a shiny new food processor for Ell for his birthday? Just kidding. Kinda.
Friday, March 2, 2012
A trip to the movies
Today I took all 4 of my wonderful children to the movies, by myself. I am proud. It took some serious planning for me to ensure that I could manage without feeling completely overwhelmed. We saw The Lorax because it's Dr. Seuss' birthday and because it was the only kids' movie playing. I'm not a huge Seuss fan but the movie was cute. I made sure that I had a warm bottle all ready for Colly to drink as soon as we were settled in our seats. We usually smuggle our own snacks in to the theater but I actually shelled out the bazillion dollars it costs for 3 kids popcorn packs. Goodbye $15. I had Collin in the Moby, carried the popcorns in one hand, and had 2 booster seats in the other. I made Logan carry his own booster and the twins managed to carry the drinks without spilling. Once in the dark theater the twins, especially Natey, we're terrified. It took them a good 10-15 minutes before they could mellow out and enjoy themselves. When we sat down I fed Collin and he went right to sleep. About an hour into the movie Logan said he had to go potty. Translation- everyone has to go potty. Bummer. The bathroom is always chaotic but especially with a cute baby strapped to my front. We lost a paci in the toilet but otherwise we made it out fairly quickly and in time to see the final few minutes of the movie. After the movie we headed to the car. I got lots of "you sure have your hands full" and "wow, you're brave" and "are they twins?" and "are they all your's?" on the way to the car. It's annoying. I only have 4 kids not 14.
My kids love Target. Really love it. Every morning when I ask the twins "Good morning babies! What should we do today?!" Nathan always say "go to Target." Then he asks me if I'll buy him a toy. So after the movies we went to Target. I fully intended to buy stuff I didn't need but after loading the kids in the cart and wrapping Collin in the Moby and getting to the dollar spot, I realized my wallet was in the car. It was for the best. We went straight to the toy section and walked every aisle. My kids love this. After about an hour mama was tired and so we ended our day and headed home. Daddy got Panda Express for dinner. Yum.
I love my kids so much. It's hard having so many little ones but I wouldn't have it any other way. They are so sweet and even at their naughtiest, they are still the light of my life. I'm so blessed to be able to stay home with them and have special movie days and take trips to Target. I hope they enjoyed the day as much as I did.
My kids love Target. Really love it. Every morning when I ask the twins "Good morning babies! What should we do today?!" Nathan always say "go to Target." Then he asks me if I'll buy him a toy. So after the movies we went to Target. I fully intended to buy stuff I didn't need but after loading the kids in the cart and wrapping Collin in the Moby and getting to the dollar spot, I realized my wallet was in the car. It was for the best. We went straight to the toy section and walked every aisle. My kids love this. After about an hour mama was tired and so we ended our day and headed home. Daddy got Panda Express for dinner. Yum.
I love my kids so much. It's hard having so many little ones but I wouldn't have it any other way. They are so sweet and even at their naughtiest, they are still the light of my life. I'm so blessed to be able to stay home with them and have special movie days and take trips to Target. I hope they enjoyed the day as much as I did.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)